About the District


District Formation

The Estes Valley Recreation and Park District (EVRPD) is a quasi-municipal corporation called a Special District – a form of local government authorized under state law created for a specific purpose. In our case, that purpose is to serve the park and recreation needs of our constituents. We are not a part of Larimer or Boulder County, but are a separate entity with our own taxing authority. All tax revenue and other funds collected are designated to serve the park and recreational needs of those who live and visit the Estes Valley.The District, originally formed in 1955, was first known as the Rocky Mountain Metropolitan Recreation District. In 1985, the District's name was changed to the Estes Valley Recreation and Park District.


District Boundaries

The District encompasses approximately 320 square miles in southwestern Larimer County and northern Boulder County, and includes within its boundaries primarily unincorporated land and the Town of Estes Park. The permanent population of the Recreation District varies between 10,800 and 11,600 in any given year. 

District boundaries are generally described as approximately two miles north of Glen Haven (including Glen Haven); one mile east of Drake (including Drake); southeast toward (but not including) Pinewood Springs; two miles south of the Larimer-Boulder County line (including Meeker Park, but not Allenspark); and west to the Continental Divide. See the District Boundary Map for further detail.


District Administration and Board of Directors

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors. The District Board is responsible for the overall management and administration of the affairs of the District. The Directors hold regular meetings and, as needed, special meetings. Information about the Board and Board meetings is available in the Board of Directors section of this Web site.

Day-to-day operations of the District are conducted by 23 full-time staff members, led by the Executive Director, Tom Carosello.


Board of Directors Composition

The Board of Directors of the Estes Valley Recreation and Park District is made up of five individuals elected from the District at large. They each serve for a term of four years and may serve for two consecutive terms. Board seat elections are held in May of even-numbered years for those Directors whose terms have expired. To help ensure continuity of service on the Board, terms are staggered such that no more than three Directors are elected in any given election cycle.

Vacancies that occur between election cycles are filled by the Board of Directors who appoint an individual to serve until the next regular election, at which time the vacancy shall be filled by election for the remainder of the originally vacated term.


Board Member Qualifications

To qualify as a Director, a person must be an eligible elector.

"Eligible elector" means a person who, at the designated time or event, is registered to vote pursuant to the "Uniform Election Code of 1992", and: Who is a resident of the special district ; or Who, or whose spouse or civil union partner, owns taxable real or personal property situated within the boundaries of the special district.

A person who is obligated to pay taxes under a contract to purchase taxable property situated within the boundaries of the special district shall be considered an owner of taxable property for the purpose of qualifying as an elector.

These qualifications must be met at the time of candidacy (or appointment), and must be maintained in order to remain qualified as a Director.


Board Member Self-Nomination Procedure

Citizens who have interest in serving as a Director and who meet the qualifications to serve as Director may nominate themselves by following the applicable procedure as specified by the state statute governing Special District elections. Anyone interested in serving as a Director should contact the Designated Election Official for the District to obtain the self-nomination form and the deadline for filing such form. Candidates must also check with Larimer and Boulder County Elections to understand the filings required under Colorado's Campaign Finance laws.